In 2015, all the member states of the United Nations agreed on 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s) which outlines the collective ambition for ‘peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future’. The SDG’s form a major part of The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development which aims the provide a shared action plan calling all countries to urgently make moves towards ending world poverty and hunger whilst improving education and health, growing economies and reducing inequality, as well as crucially also dealing with climate change and preserving our forests and oceans. The current Global Goals follow on from the Millennium Development Goals (MDG’s) initiated in 2000 which mainly focused on reducing extreme poverty by 2015.

Now, 5 years later the 2030 Agenda and the SDG’s have over 5,000 partnerships and 174 targets involving specific indicators which allow progress to be monitored around the world. But the past few years have shown that the global issues and problems we face, including world-wide diseases, have increased making the emphasis and focus on the SDG’s even more vital.


The Sustainable Development Goals are as follows:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health and Well-being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships For the Goals

Find out more here.